MEMBERS LOGIN Become a JurorVolunteerContactHome
About Music PEIMusic PEI WeekBecome a MemberMembers LoungeShowcase PEINews & EventsMediaFunding
 
News & Events
Meaghan Blanchard- Photo by Shannon Pratt
Second Annual Showcase PEI a success

October 5, 2009 | FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday Oct 5th, 2009

Music PEI hosted national and international delegates from the music industry September 28th and 29th for the second annual Showcase PEI 2009 music conference. Selected delegates represented buyers and representatives from various festivals, venues, music industry conferences, labels, distributors and agents and came from as far away as Scotland and England. Nineteen export ready or currently exporting Island artists were showcased over two days and two nights of performances at the MacKenzie Theatre hoping to impress the 20 delegates enough to secure future work.

Initial feedback from the delegates has been excellent.

Mark Ringwood- Roots Around the World, UK- http://www.rootsaroundtheworld.info/
“Music PEI proved that this Province punches well above its weight. Where once the music focus was on Cape Breton, and Newfoundland, the artists showcased at Music PEI showed a range of genres, originality, and professionalism which made the trip a voyage of discovery. I look forward with great enthusiasm in bringing a number of artists to Europe, and in encouraging their new audiences to personally enjoy the same fabulous hospitality and culture which the Province has to offer.”

Mitch Podolak- Home Routes, Winnipeg- http://homeroutes.ca/index.htm
“it was an eye opener for me, what a great bunch of folk musicians and I’m hiring at least four for next year.”

Russell Easy- Lunenburg Folk Festival- www.folkharbour.com
“It was a wonderful opportunity to meet with other individuals who are passionate about music and make it their life's-work to promote and bring music and musicians to the public eye. I look forward to continued collaborations with the many individuals I met this week. “

Josh Grady- Salty Jam Music Festival- http://www.saltyjam.ca
“It was a fantastic couple of days. It’s hard to believe that much talent can come from such a small population (the size of Saint John!) and I’m quite sure that we will be inviting one or more of the artists to come and join us at the festival next year. The diversity of performers helped to keep the sets fresh and was a great way to distinguish each performer from the last. The venue was top notch as well.”

Mike Hill- Mariposa Folk Festival, Ontario- http://www.mariposafolk.com/
“What a terrific group of people and the music was absolutely incredible. The talent on PEI per capita is astounding. That such a small place can produce so many talented people is probably a tribute to people like yourself who promote it (as well as the teachers and parents and others who've made it possible.) I was thoroughly impressed with everything. So thanks for your hospitality, the arrangements, the food, the music..... Everything was first class.”

Rob Oakie- Executive Director of Music PEI-
“The delegates we managed to recruit were an excellent collection of knowledgeable music industry people who will not only provide work but also an invaluable resource of networking and information for our artists and our association for years to come. This business is all about relationships. From the initial feedback it is clear many of the PEI artists who showcased are ready to take the next step in their careers to becoming international touring acts.”

Delegates for 2009 included representatives from Vancouver, Harrison Hot Springs, Stanfest, Lunenburg and Mariposa Folk Festivals, Salty Jam, Harvest Jazz and Blues and Evolve Festivals, UK festivals Loopallu, Wickermen, Belladrum and Beautiful Days, Roots Around the World Agency, Paquin Agency, Stoney Plain Records, Fontana North, Home Routes House Concerts, OCFF and NXNE conferences, the Atlantic Presenters Association, the Halifax Pop Explosion as well as local venue programmers.

Photos of the event- http://www.musicpei.com/media/gallery.php?gallery=9

The following is a list of Showcasing artists who performed:
Colette Cheverie www.colettecheverie.com
Chas Guay www.myspace.com/chasguaymusic
Richard Wood with Gordon www.myspace.com/richardwoodfiddler
Belsher and Brad Fremlin
Tim Chaisson & Morning Fold www.timchaisson.com
Dan Currie Band www.sonicbids.com/dancurrieband
Haunted Hearts www.sonicbids.com/weallhavehauntedhearts
Paper Lions www.paperlions.com
Nathan Wiley www.nathanwiley.com
Smothered in Hugs www.smotheredinhugs.com
Vishten www.vishten.net
John Connolly www.sonicbids.com/johnconnolly
Roy Johnstone www.royjohnstone.com
Gadelle www.gadelle.com
Catherine MacLellan www.catherinemaclellan.com
The Grass Mountain Hobos www.grassmountainhobos.com
Meaghan Blanchard www.sonicbids.com/meaghanblanchard
Lazy Jacks www.sonicbids.com/lazyjacks
Teresa Doyle www.teresadoyle.com
Nudie & the Turks www.nudieandtheturks.com

Music PEI would like to thank the following sponsors for their generous support in helping us to stage one the most important music industry events of the year on PEI.
ACOA
Province of PEI- PEI Business Development Inc
Trade Routes
SOCAN Foundation
Globe World Flavours- Steve Barber
Long & McQuade